This category relates to an idea for the development of a new medical device, new piece of equipment or diagnostic tool.

This will have been developed by a member/s of staff within the NHS. This may be an independently led project, work carried out as part of a team, or through collaboration with either a company or university. We are extremely interested in learning how your work has been picked up and adopted elsewhere.


This award recognises the development of a collaboration with industry that addresses a significant need(s) and has or will have a major positive impact on patient care.

This includes, but is not limited to, reduction in treatment time, cost benefit etc. Applicants should be able to demonstrate how the collaboration provides an innovative solution(s) and how it can add benefit to the NHS.

Clinical-Education Sponsor

Sponsored by Health Education England North East (HEENE)

The category is open to individuals, teams or organisations that provide innovative teaching and learning methods, including development of devices, platforms, solutions and initiatives that raise education quality and make it accessible for relevant groups.

This category is not open to those who have been funded from or are employed by HEE (NE) in any capacity, or is a HEENE or national initiative.

Please ensure that you have developed your submission with all who were involved with the project, and appropriate credit is given.

Patient Safety

The aim of all patient safety initiatives is to ultimately reduce avoidable harm within the health system.

This could involve everything from improving communication between teams to reviewing staff mix, to encouraging staff and patients to speak up about risk. Some risks we know and understand – yet we fail to action key learnings to reduce them.  There are more subtle risks that will become apparent only when we look at safety incidents systematically. But whether we are dealing with known or unknown risks, there is a need for a culture in which staff can confidently report risks and concerns and know that these issues will be taken seriously and investigated in order to prevent harm from occurring in the first place.

At a time in which championing patient safety is more crucial than ever, this award recognises not just initiatives focused on identifying risk and preventing it but also projects that have introduced a culture in which incidents are reliably reported, investigated and learnt from.

Eligibility: This category is open to healthcare organisations, teams and collaborations across the public and third sectors who have developed successful and continually improving patient safety initiatives.


This award recognises innovators or organisations who have gone above and beyond in response to the COVID-19 pandemic. 

Celebrating those who have truly nurtured an innovation adoption culture where good ideas are quickly identified and spread within and beyond the boundaries of the organisation.

Digital innovation

This category recognises initiatives that have used technology and digital systems in a truly innovative and patient-focused way to improve healthcare provision.

Entrants must be able to demonstrate the benefits of their initiatives in terms of improved health outcomes, patient experience or service effectiveness.

Examples may include: Introducing technology to capture data that is accessible to all professionals and services involved in individual patients’ care; Using existing technology in new ways to increase its benefits; and Developing new ways of capturing data on patient outcomes or service effectiveness. Whilst innovation is undoubtedly important its value is strengthened by its ultimate adoption.

Eligibility: All NHS organisations (including providers, partnerships and systems), General Practice and primary care organisations.


Climate change and our impact on public health and the environment is recognised as one of the key global challenges of the 21st century. The health sector has a vested interest in improving public health by addressing the causes of air pollution and climate change.

The NHS long-term plan includes commitments to becoming a ‘greener’ NHS through halving carbon emissions by 2025 (vs 2007 levels), cutting fleet air pollutants by 20%, and reducing single use plastics across the NHS supply chain. Making these ambitions a reality will affect decision making across all areas of the healthcare system and require environmental impact assessment to become a key driver of innovative service delivery.

This award will recognise those organisations redesigning working practices to deliver greener and more efficient services, and who are actively adopting new innovations to reduce waste, water, energy consumption, carbon and single-use plastics.

Eligibility: All NHS organisations (including providers, partnerships and systems), General Practice and primary care organisations.

Healthcare Inequality

Health inequalities are the preventable, unfair and unjust differences in health status that arise from the unequal distribution of social, environmental and economic conditions within societies, which determine the risk of people getting ill, their ability to prevent sickness, or opportunities to take action and access treatment when ill health occurs.

NHS England and NHS Improvement’s Core20PLUS5 approach aims to support the reduction of healthcare inequalities experienced by communities most at risk at both national and system level. The approach defines a target population cohort; i) the 20% most deprived and ii) ‘PLUS’ groups experiencing poorer than average care. It also identifies ‘5’ focus clinical areas requiring accelerated improvement – maternity, severe mental illness, chronic respiratory disease, early cancer diagnosis and hypertension case finding.

This award recognises innovative and creative initiatives which aim to reduce healthcare inequalities at a national or local level – especially those which align with the Core20PLUS5 approach. Therefore, award entries should have a focus on the most deprived communities, inclusion health groups (any population group that is socially excluded.

Judges are looking for entries that drive tangible improvements in access, experiences and outcomes for patients, carers, people and/or communities. Winners will be projects co-designed and co-produced with patients, built on strong local partnerships, that use data and insights effectively and intelligently to target interventions and demonstrate measurable impacts outlining what has actually made a difference to communities.

Eligibility: All NHS organisations (including providers, partnerships and systems), General Practice and primary care organisations.